Review: Wink, Poppy, Midnight

A brief review of Wink Poppy Midnight by April G. Tucholke

First Impression:When I first laid eyes on this book I have to admit, I was in love with the cover. It’s breathtaking, and when you see a beautiful cover then you know the editor and publisher think it’s a good read…

…Now, I’m not saying judge a book by it’s cover but that the cover gives the reader the first initial thoughts of the book. It sets the stage for the rest of the story.
Review: While reading this book I simply couldn’t put it down, I honestly didn’t know what was to happen with every flip of the page. The fresh new pages of the book flying through my fingers as I sped through the small book. Wink Poppy Midnight grabs you by the curly red locks, the golden hair, the tender hands and drags you into a whirlwind of a story circulating around a unlikely trio.
April G. Tucholke kept me on watch as which every turn my trust in the characters changed. It’s written perfectly to keep you weary of which characters to trust.
A Hero. A Villain. A Liar. Who’s who?
This haunting book keeps you on the edge of your seat as every character’s action is taken and you begin to doubt who to trust. Who is doing the right thing? Flipping the page and finding out you finished, your brain stops for a moment. Processing the mystery of this book, you will have to sit and think. Think who is the Hero. Who is the Villain. Who is the Liar.

People say that the bullying scenes were way too overdone and unnecessary to the story, but I find myself disagreeing with that. Bullying is happening every day in this sad world and the book is just a glimpse to what is happening to children and adults of all ages, sizes, and sexualities. The constant changing of victim and villain is just showing what happens to people when raised in a world like this.

The world is not just black and white, its full of different shades of gray. And April does a wonderful job of making the reader realize that the real world is a stranger place than we make it seem. That we need to accept there is no pure good and pure bad, everyone is a mix and we must accept it.
Score: 4/5
For Who: I would recommend this book to people who enjoy reading a intense book full of mystery, a teenage angst, or a psychological thriller that keeps you reading until finished in one sitting.

4 Replies to “Review: Wink, Poppy, Midnight”

  1. There is certainly a lot of grey. It is for this reason I can’t just condemn someone even if they did the most horrible thing. I wonder why? Depth of character is reality in humanity. Why not a 5 by the way?

    Like

    1. For my book reviews there is a thin line between four and five. Both of them will rate amazing books, but a five has me strung over it for a long time. To the point where it becomes obsession. So it’s mostly a four because I didn’t end up adoring it but it’s still an amazing book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

