Problematic Books: TBR or not?

The question many readers have asked themselves recently, because of the rising of certain problematic books, is should they read the books or blacklist them? There is even a fear for a reader to post about certain books on all social medias because they fear the ‘attack’ of someone who knows the wrong of the book. In my humble and personal opinion I have one thing to say to everyone about this subject: READ WHAT YOU WANT.

I’m going to give you everything I think on the subject and you can take what you want about this, but remember this is my opinion.

As an example I’m going to use Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth simply because it’s at the center of chaos of the reading community. Now, from the research I’ve done and all the reviews I have read it’s simple to say the book does have problems. Many… many problems and just because you don’t see them doesn’t mean they aren’t there. The problem(underlying racism) will always be there no matter how hard you advocate it’s not. Now, if you liked the book that doesn’t mean you are racist. I fear that’s what many people believe. They think that other people are assuming they are if they say they liked the book. That is not the problem, you can like any book and no one should judge you on whatever genre or subject you like to read.

The real problem is the community turning a blind eye to these topics, we need to acknowledge that the book does follow a horrible path in defining who is good and evil. Just because it’s a fictional world does not excuse the use of racism as a plot. What all those people you call “snowflakes” want is for people to see that there is a problem. Think of it this way, I love the Harry Potter books, I love them with all my heart. Yet, that isn’t going to stop me from acknowledging the problems it has, and it does have many problems. I’m willing to discuss those problems and know that they aren’t the accurate representation of certain cultures. My love of the world and the characters won’t stop, but at least I know the books aren’t perfect.

That’s all the activist reading community wants, for the rest of them to see that books are problematic. It’s hard nowadays to find one that isn’t problematic, but we still love reading do we not? Yet, we need to show our dislike for these problems in books, so that authors can see and work out a plot that doesn’t enforce racism or any other problematic subjects that books may have.

Read everything, but know when there is a problem. Accept it. And fight for change.

Because if there is one thing books teach us is to never stop fighting against what is wrong. Rise. Speak. Change.

“Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it.”

-William Faulkner

Once again this is purely my opinion on the subject, and I’m always looking for more insight if you have something to add to the conversation.

2 Replies to “Problematic Books: TBR or not?”

Leave a Reply

