Review : King’s Cage

Spoiler Free Review

“There are pieces of me, small pieces, still in love with a fiction.”

There are pieces of me, small pieces, still in love with this story. It’s hard for me to let go of a series once I’m in as deep as the third book, even when with each book slowly my admiration for the character’s leave. So this is my review and opinions on King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard.

Since this blog is fairly new and I never wrote my reviews for Red Queen and Glass Sword I will give a very brief summary of what I thought of them.

Red Queen: This book was a definite 4/5. I loved reading it and it took me about a day and a half to finish it. I loved the characters and the universe it was set it. It even made me excited to know they were doing a movie adaptation because I wanted to see this world on the big screen. The only reason that it did not get a 5/5 was that it’s ending was completely predictable for me at least, but I saw that coming miles away.

Glass Sword: 3/5. I forced myself to finish this book, I was so excited to read it and I was only disappointed. A mixture of the way Mare began to act and… mostly Mare honestly. I got frustrated so much I felt like skipping so many parts about it.

Now. King’s Cage.

Rating: 3.5/5

Plot: The plot was very small in my opinion, I felt, just like Glass Sword, that it was just an informative filler for the story. Creating connections that will be needed for the last book of the series and small plot holes she would have had if she made it just a duology. Victoria Aveyard does not let us down by giving us a ending that Mare should have seen from miles away(which was honestly the only perk of Glass Sword, I hadn’t seen the ending coming).

Characters: At this point I still like Cal (I’m still wholeheartedly against Maven oops) and I found a new love for Evangeline(which I hated in the first book), and I will probably only read the last book to see how their destiny ends up. Mare still stresses me out with every decision she took and I wanted to slap her far too many times.Too many things were added to the characters, and although I appreciate Victoria trying to make her book more diverse it comes too late since it IS the third book of the series.

Final Opinion: I had hoped this book would pick up the shards of disappointment that Glass Sword left and return to the love I felt with Red Queen, but neither of them can match  the first book. In the end I am disappointed in the fact I couldn’t end up loving this series, but you will still find me reading the last book just for the sake of Cal and Evangeline.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

