Review: The Upside of Unrequited

 

“I’m on the toilet at the 9:30 Club, and I’m wondering how mermaids pee”

Haven’t we all thought of that before?

The first line of The Upside of Unrequited quickly ensnared me and was thinking “yes, I have thought about that before”.

SYPNOSIS: Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Page Count: 337

Rating: 5/5

 

I don’t know about you but I had been postponing reading Albertalli’s books for the longest time. Simon had always been on my tbr list but I never put the effort into actually picking up the book and reading it.

If you were like me and it just doesn’t interest you because fantasy is more your speed…don’t hesitate any longer! Her books are genuinely one of the only contemporary novels that I enjoy. In fact after reading both her books, I already can’t wait for her next one.

Her books give you such a warm feeling in your heart. It’s such a adorable experience that has you constantly thinking “that’s so me!”.

Okay now lets start with a focus on The Upside of Unrequited now. The way this book is written is so soft and easy to read. You simply float through the pages effortlessly. There is no confusion to what Molly is feeling because Becky writes in such a way that Molly’s thoughts become easy to understand.

There are nerdy references agalor! My inner geek was fluttering in happiness as so many geeky references were being made by my favorite, Reid.

“So, you’re not WRONG, per se, but you should probably know that Tolkien actually hyphenates “Middle-Earth”

Reid is the cutest thing ever ,okay? And I’m not saying that because we are both huge Tolkien nerds. In the first scene he appears he is wearing a Tolkien shirt wand that is imagesjust amazing because I was totally not wearing a Tolkien shirt…okay I was and it was an amazing coincidence.

There were quite a few LGBTQIA+ characters actually(this does not make it a LGBTQIA+ book). I love the fact Molly has moms because we need more same sex parents in YA literature.

Molly and her family is also Jewish. Reid is Jewish too! The moment they both realize they are both Jewish is also the cutest thing ever?! Like they were so in awe and surprised that it just made me feel so happy.

This book is so good. It’s a must read even if you don’t like contemporaries. It gives a refreshing new type of YA heroine main character. It gives an adorable coming of age story with struggles that makes us feel like we are alone in in it. This book shows that even if other people are very different from you there are struggles that we share.

Favorite Thing About The Upside Of Unrequited

I must say that my favorite part is Molly’s internal banter with herself because it is something I related to immensely.

Thing I Disliked About The Upside of Unrequited

Cassie. And I know I won’t be alone in disliking her. She is definitely one of those characters that need as slap and a quick scream saying “Stop that!”

Final Words: SO CUTE GO READ IT RIGHT NOW.

Leave a Reply

