The Mid-Year Freakout Tag

I got tagged to do a thing!! And my Romie tagged me to do it, thank you! So honestly I’m just going to say a few names that I know are active bloggers and I think would enjoy this – if you did this already and I tagged you sorry before hand- are Maé and Taryn. So here we go!

One. The best book you’ve read so far in 2017

An Ember In The Ashes & A Conjuring of Light

Yes, the best book has to be An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. Okay I just love Elias and it would feel like a betrayal to pick any other book that doesn’t have my husband in it–Same with my lovers Kell and Lila.

 

Two. Your favourite sequel this year

A Gathering of Shadows

Okay I have been reading so many standalone books this year– or haven’t gotten to the sequel in most series I’ve started– that I will have to pick A Gathering of Shadows. Because that book is everything I will ever want in life. Queer. Pirates.

 

Three. A new release that you haven’t read but really want to

Tash Hearts Tolstoy

Tash Hearts Tolstoy! I have been wanting to read it for so long but I really don’t have the money to go book shopping right now so it will have to wait.

 

Four. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Wonder Woman


Wonder Woman!!! Because I want to support Wonder Woman but since I don’t want to watch the movie I’ll do it through the books and comics.

Five. Your biggest disappointment

Glass Sword

I was expecting so much from this series. I had actually enjoyed reading Red Quen but Glass Sword– I’m shocked. It was so bad, and King’s Cage only slightly improved. But yeah, it was a bad decision to buy all three books in one go.

 

Six. Biggest surprise of the year

Lambs Can Always Become Lions

This book! I don’t even know what I was expecting but it wasn’t this amazing little book. Here is my review were I simply gush over it for the entireity of the post Review: Lambs Can Always Become Lions. I want a physical copy of it so bad and hold it and throw it at peoples faces so they read it. I’m so excited for the next book, so I’ll be waiting here not so patiently for it.

 

Seven. Favourite new-to-you or debut author

Zoraida Cordova and Sabaa Tahir

Yes, these are new to me and I don’t think they are debut authors so. But all three of these lovely people are sure to be annoyed at one point by me talking about their amazing books.

 

Eight. Your new fictional crush

Elias Veturius

*husband

How iconic is it for Elias to go to my top favorite characters list in the first two pages he was introduced. Kaz, Inej, Lila, and Kell will have to move over and make some room for my ray of sunshine. Only Romie truly knows how much I love him because I spammed her so much while reading the book.

 

Nine. New favourite character

Elias Veturius

Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.Elias.

Yes.

 

Ten. A book that made you cry

The Serpent King

Dang. This book. I honestly wasn’t expecting to cry with it but the flood gates were set loose and I cried probably all night thinking about this book. I tried reviewing it but just thinking about it made me want to cry a little more.

Tbh The Graces almost made me cry out of happiness when it was over because that book is the worst book I’ve read.

 

Eleven. A book that made you happy

The Upside of Unrequited

This book was so pure and so good. I loved it so much! I’m so happy it went a little mainstream in the book community because everyone has to read it. The only thing I don’t like is when people use it as a LGBTQIA+ book — fun fact it isn’t. Review: The Upside of Unrequited

 

Twelve. Your favourite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year

None. Nope. I’m a bit cringy and I only watch book adaptations only if I have read the book before. So I end up not liking it at the end because books are always better.

 

Thirteen. Favourite book post you’ve published this year

Your Fav is Problematic. Now What?

Your Fav is Problematic. Now What? This one is my favorite. I feel like I don’t even have to say why? It just is possibly my legacy and the best thing I’ll ever write.

 

Fourteen. The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year

Labyrinth Lost

Labyrinth Lost is just so beautiful okay. It made me happy to see my culture not being appropriated for once and instead celebrated on the cover of the book.

Fifteen. What are some books that you need to read by the end of the year?

Shatter Me series

The rest of the Shatter Me books and so many others. So SO SOOOOOO many.

 

That’s all for today! Tomorrow I’ll be posting more info about a readathon a few friends and I are hosting in July.

Much “love”

REA

12 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Freakout Tag

  1. YEEEEEEEEES !!!! AN EMBER IS THE ASHES !! As you may already know it”s my newest obsession, I am so so in love with it and ACOL was so freaking amazing, it has so much action and I was super content with the ending.
    I also have heart eyes everytime I think about Upside because it’s just such a relatable happy book aaah ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

