Review: The Forbidden Wish

So I picked up this book the other day because Fadwa was recommending this one in place of another problematic book. And I honestly couldn’t resist picking it up after seeing how much Fadwa loved it.

Page Count: 352

Genre: YA Fantasy

Author:Jessica Khoury

Synopsis: She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world… 

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury. 

Rating: 4/5

T.W.: quick moment where there is an attempted rape

Fantasy is my favorite okay. So when I knew this book was a better representation of jinni than r**** ** *** ***** so I was very excited. I will start off say that the world building in this book and the writing are going hand in hand amazingly. The writing makes this world–even if in a sense it is complicated– very easy to understand. I loved reading it.

It’s such a magical writing and it fits the story perfectly. Especially with Zahra, you could truly tell she was magic just through Jessica Khoury’s writing. It was weaved together perfectly. Just. Amazing.

Also if you know me I am picky with fairy tale retellings–I want to love them but they are so bad in YA usually. But I was invested in this story from the start. I practically started yelling at Fadwa in the dm from the moment I started reading. The moment Aladdin’s name was mention I was hyped.

The plot went slowly but for me it wasn’t a problem with this one. Each moment that passed was precious and I devoured it 21396155excitedly. And did you see the cover. Its gorgeous and I would have bought my own but there is a name at the top of the book that makes me want to scratch it out.

I just have one problem with this. In the beginning Aladdin is described as noticeably underfed then the next scene it was talking about how he was so muscular and handsome. He is muscular because he doesn’t have enough to eat not because he works out!!! It just got me on my nerves for the while that he was underfed, once he started eating being described as handsome no longer bothered me.

Here is Fadwa’s review of The Forbidden Wish

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Forbidden Wish

Leave a Reply

