Review: They Both Die At The End

Thanks to the lovely Shenwei I was able to get my hands on this book and will be reviewing it as an own voices reviewer. And do you know how happy I am at having a book with Queer Latinxs! So here is my review of Adam’s Silvera’s third novel.

Page Count: 384

Genre: Contemporary/ Slight Sci-fi

Author: Adam Silvera

Synopsis: On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day.

Rating: 5/5

TW: brief suicidal thoughts(not MC), constant talk of death

What if one morning you received a call telling you that you were dying that exact day? What would you do? Who would you spend it with? These are the very questions Mateo and Rufus face the day of their Death Call. In this earth, which is exactly the same as33385229 ours in all ways but this, you receive a call from the Death Cast company announcing that you will die that day. Which gives you a chance to say your goodbyes and do everything you had never dared to do.

So when Mateo receives his death call he realizes the very little his life has satisfied him. He never took the risks he kept postponing. Since he lived comfortably in his own little world. He is such a relatable character for me. I felt like I was being placed under the spotlight in his chapters because everything he thought of at one point or another I had a thought like that too. The fact he is a Latino made me cheer. Rufus is such amazing character as well, he tried to make everything better ,even when the worst was happening. All he wanted in his last day was to not spend the day alone and because of circumstances he couldn’t be with his usual friends. Mateo is gay and Rufus is bisexual…like the queer Latinx tears falling down my cheeks are real. Also quick note: some reviews have already erased the fact Rufus is bisexual so watch me scream it from the bottom of my lungs.

I began reading the book knowing that there wasn’t going to be a happy ending yet as I got closer and closer to the end I wanted it to be happily. I desperately wanted it to end happy. It was heartbreaking to read, from the very start my heart began to ache for the boys. Yet, this book gave me things to think about myself. I spent the night after finishing crying and having a so many thoughts about my life.

The book alternated between Mateo’s and Rufus’ POV, but it did include very brief chapters of other supporting characters. It would have made me annoyed at the addition of these POV’s but those chapters were so short and concise that it didn’t bother me much. In fact, it was an interesting addition that I enjoyed seeing what was going on in the minds of the people whose lives they were affecting.

There was very little world building and the answer to how the Death Call knows when people are going to die stays unanswered. But this book isn’t a hardcore sci-fi and Adam’s point wasn’t to have Mateo and Rufus be the chosen one. This book wasn’t a dystopian in that way either because this book gave the reader a chance to live their story and not them fighting for the society. To see them overcome what they feared the most or were suppressed.

Some people didn’t like the book because the story was didn’t make the boys…well go wild? They expected, since it was their last day alive, for them to go crazy. But those people didn’t get the gist of the story, don’t expect this to be like Nerve where they act crazy. They aren’t white enough to avoid getting in trouble even if it’s their last day of being alive. In fact, there is a point where Rufus gets the cops called on him by a person who knew it was his last day alive. Mateo and Rufus went through a little soul discovering together. They find out things they were missing out and mourned the quick loss of it.

This book is amazing and Adam’s letter at the beginning of the book made me tear up. I needed a book like this and I’m happy it exists now. So from now until it gets published just watch me tell everyone to read it.

3 thoughts on “Review: They Both Die At The End

  1. Ahhhhh I’m still on the fence about whether or not to read this one. Adam’s books are so heartbreaking! Idk if I’m ready. I’m so glad you were able to read it and loved it! ❤

    Like

  2. Ahhh!!! I’m even more excited for this book now. I’m so glad you liked it.

    And I didn’t know Rufus was Bisexual! 😱 I’ve heard a lot of conflicting things. It’s nice to have that cleared up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

